Program on Central Asia

Camel statue in Central Saia

The Program on Central Asia was established to help strengthen research and teaching at Harvard on the history and current affairs of five Central Asian countries—Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

It supports the study of the region using the tools and insights from various fields of social science and humanities. The activities of the program include research projects, public lectures and seminars, curricula development and course offerings, gathering and dissemination of resources, and facilitation of research by students and visiting scholars.